"idiot mode" bottleneck

A discussion of techniques, and equipment for guitar. Fretted, bottleneck or slide, acoustic or electric, this is the place.

"idiot mode" bottleneck

Postby nicerain » Wed Jun 10, 2009 12:56 pm

ok, i 'm not sure how to say this.
i have been playing bottleneck slide for 2 or 3 years and play in the "idiot mode". i use my thumb for rhythm and play the melody with the slide on the first and second strings, sometimes others. the thing is, almost all my melody notes are played OPEN :wha:. i play mostly in open D and sometimes in open G.
i don't know how to play with chords, etc. i was never able to learn to play the guitar with it's chords, circle of 5ths and all that music theory stuff. i just can't wrap my head around it.
i'm a fiddler, play by ear, don't read music.....the slide seemed like a natural progression from the fiddle, no fret's to worry me, just rely on my ear for the right intonation.
even though people say what i''m doing sounds good and it gives me a thrill i still feel like i'm CHEATING....
the other thing is, i only know about 8 tunes and can't seem to crawl out of this rut. i love to listen to fred mcdowell, his playing is actually pretty simple, but, his magic is untouchable......sometimes the simplest tunes are the hardest to play.
i guess what i want to know is, are there others out there that play this way and have they taken it further than me and don't feel like they are cheating and haven't hit a wall in a rut?
another question, when trying to pick out a tune, is it alright to play it on a different string in a different place, even in a different key than the recording, if in the end it sounds good?

....please, be gentle with me!
nicerain
nicerain
Regular

Re: "idiot mode" bottleneck

Postby Jane fromLondonUK » Wed Jun 10, 2009 1:34 pm

No such thing as cheating, or right and wrong, when making music IMHO -- if it feels (and sounds) good, do it! :)