Blues & Photoss

Required: Just registered? Give us a short introduction. You won't be able to post anywhere else until you have an approved post here.

Everything else -- questions, comments, observations -- should find a home in the other forums.

Blues & Photoss

Postby wirewalker » Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:44 pm

Hi I am a guitarist and photographer who has written illustrated articles for numerous glossy mags and now balance my working world as a senior civil servant with the enjoyable world of guitar: country-blues, acoustic blues, electric blues, slide guitar, always chasing that elusive tone. I am right handed with a broken left-wrist so my greates frustration is that I cannot find a way to develop a convincing finger-vibrato, so any ideas will be welcomed. The real prob is that the hospital in Spain fudged the operation after a car-crash and I was told by a consultant once back in the uk I would never regain more than 5 to 10% rotation. The whole process took a long time and it was only the purchase of a new guitar (s Strat) that motivated me to drive myself through the pain. I have proved the xperts wrong and probably have about 80% rotation now, 20 years after the accident, but the missing ingredient is loss of finger strength: I can bend strings but not accurately add vibrato once bent. Finally, I cannnot find the way to move the strings abck and forth fast enough.

However, I play guitar evry evening for my own pleasure and I cannot imagine my life without my music.
wirewalker
Regular

Re: Blues & Photoss

Postby ricochet » Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:51 pm

I know several guys who've become principally slide players because of hand problems. You may want to look into that, also lap style sliding. Welcome to BRB!
ricochet
Regular

Postby wirewalker » Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:10 pm