Starter guitar for slide?

A discussion of techniques, and equipment for guitar. Fretted, bottleneck or slide, acoustic or electric, this is the place.

Starter guitar for slide?

Postby tz1238 » Sun Jan 04, 2009 3:51 pm

I'm just starting out playing slide guitar. I play electric now and would like to try a resonator guitar and set it up strictly for slide playing. Is there any decent guitars in the 550.00 range or lower that any of you guys reccomend? I don't want to spend a ton of money, till I see how much I like playing. Thanks for any help you can give me.
tz1238
Regular

Re: Starter guitar for slide?

Postby leftyguitarman » Sun Jan 04, 2009 6:55 pm

A lot of people highly recommend the Republic line of resonators. I've never played them but I've heard mostly all good things about them. Check out http://www.republicguitars.com to see all of them. If you search through the forums, you'll see all the topics about them. Nobody really has anything bad to say about them.

I have an Epiphone Biscuit (wood bodied single cone, look at my pic on the right) and I love it. The stock cone is really cheap, but it sounds good. I took it apart one day to look inside just for fun, and when I reassembled it, the tone seemed to improve. It's a really raunchy sounding single cone. I'm not sure if Epiphone is still making the Biscuit, but they're readily available on ebay. The only thing I dislike about the Biscuit is that the fretboard isn't really wide. Apart from that, I love it.

Hope you find a good one. :wink:
leftyguitarman
Regular

Postby De Ferre » Sun Jan 04, 2009 8:00 pm

I've got a Johnson jm998, €299, and I'm happy with it.
De Ferre
Regular

Postby DaveG » Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:01 pm

If you want something that is cheap but still does the job check out the Rogue resonators from Musicians Friend. They sound pretty good for the money and if it doesn't work out you don't have a lot invested in them. They also have a 30 day return policy.