Reso-Maintenance

A discussion of techniques, and equipment for guitar. Fretted, bottleneck or slide, acoustic or electric, this is the place.

Reso-Maintenance

Postby preachingblues » Tue May 13, 2008 11:20 pm

Hey guys. I'm not really a newbie here. I was posting for a while as thepeppermints, but I forgot my account info and just created a new one. Mods, delete the old account if you want.

Quick question. What should I do to my Regal, wood-bodied resonator to improve the sound? I've never had it apart for cleaning or anything like that. I don't think I want to replace anything at this point. Are there any simple maintenance tricks, internally, I can use to make sure it sounds as good as possible?
preachingblues
Regular

Re: Reso-Maintenance

Postby ricochet » Tue May 13, 2008 11:45 pm

Most important part of setting up a spider reso is properly adjusting the tension screw in the center of the bridge. It pulls the spider down against the cone, preloading it to the proper tension. If it's too loose, you may get buzzing, the action will be low, and the strings will feel squishy. Tighter, the action will rise, the strings will have a much more solid, snappy feel, and the tone will change (likely brighter.) Too tight, the screw will strip, the spider legs will bend or break, or the cone will be crushed. Stew-Mac recommends backing the screw out loose (count turns!), and carefully tighten till you just feel a slight resistance as the spider begins to press on the cone. Tighten it in the range between 1/4 and 1 full turn tight. You'll find a sweet spot in there somewhere. Makes a HUGE difference in playing feel, tone and volume!