total newbie tricone intonation question

A discussion of techniques, and equipment for guitar. Fretted, bottleneck or slide, acoustic or electric, this is the place.

total newbie tricone intonation question

Postby whirligig » Wed Apr 16, 2008 1:50 am

Please forgive such a basic question but I was unable to find an answer in searching this forum and I'd trust opinions here more than elsewhere. I seem to remember reading somewhere that the t bridge position on tricones does affect the intonation.

My tricone sounds great as far as sliding, but any fretted note is sharp. Sharp enough it's beginning to annoy me after 3 months; and guitar being warm or cold, humid or not etc. doesn't seem to matter, it's still sharp.

I know from banjo you adjust this by moving the bridge, but the complexity of a t bridge (and messing w/ it and the cones) scares me. It's sitting right in the middle of the hole in the coverplate, if that makes any sense, the gap is equal on both sides. So I guess my question is, can it be moved, will moving it fix it, which way do I move it (yes, duh, I don't know being new to this), and how do you do that, as in take the strings off or just loosen them, etc. And should I try this myself or get someone who knows what they're doing to do it ... I'd rather learn to do it myself but I don't want to do something totally stupid, either.

Any tips would be much appreciated :)
whirligig
Regular

Re: total newbie tricone intonation question

Postby ricochet » Wed Apr 16, 2008 2:22 am

If the fretted note's sharp compared to the 12th fret harmonic, the bridge needs to move away from the nut. You do this by loosening the strings and sliding it by gently pushing the bridge. The cones are sitting in three shallow pockets in the soundwell that gives a little room for movement. Tune back up and check again. You may have to slant it slightly to get the 1st and 6th strings more or less intonated together. You'll never get all the strings perfectly intonated.
ricochet