Tab/web links to good songs for a slide newbie...

A discussion of techniques, and equipment for guitar. Fretted, bottleneck or slide, acoustic or electric, this is the place.

Tab/web links to good songs for a slide newbie...

Postby Arcadiandj » Mon Sep 10, 2007 2:00 am

I've been playing guitar for a few years now. Do chords well and can play some lead stuff ok. Not ready to perform yet, but have started to mess around with a slide. I just love the blues:) I've got some decent tone, but would like to try some songs. Does anyone know some web resources where I can find some songs? Any guidance or suggestions is/are much appreciated.
Arcadiandj
Regular

Postby bignick » Wed Sep 12, 2007 11:17 am

There was a really good tab site on here that someone posted...though it was kind of frowned upon because the tabs were taken out of some song books and they were pirated.

Honestly, for slide guitar...I suggest putting on a few tunes from some of your favorite players...find out what tuning they are in and have at it. One of the most crucial elements of slide is your ear. Once you start playing in a certain tuning you will figure that out. The majority of things that you play are at the 3rd, 5th, 7th, and 12th frets.

I'll give you some starters:

George Thorogood: Primarilly Open G (Bad to the Bone, Get a Haircut, Madison Blues, Gear Jammer)
Fred McDowell: Open D or E
Duane Allman: Open E (Statesboro Blues)
Hound Dog Taylor: Open D (Anything really)
Elmore James: Open D (Dust My Broom)
Robert Johnson: Open G or Open A (Love In Vain, Crossroad Blues)
Son House: Open G (Death Letter Blues)
Bukka White: Open G

Get to Flailing. Remember that Open D capos to Open E on the 2nd fret, and Open G capos to A on the 2nd fret as well.
bignick
Regular

Postby Arcadiandj » Thu Sep 13, 2007 4:07 am

bignick wrote:There was a really good tab site on here that someone posted...though it was kind of frowned upon because the tabs were taken out of some song books and they were pirated.