Gibson Houndog

A discussion of techniques, and equipment for guitar. Fretted, bottleneck or slide, acoustic or electric, this is the place.

Gibson Houndog

Postby Chris Sullivan » Sun Aug 19, 2007 3:54 am

Does anyone have an opnion on the Gibson Houndog. I am looking at getting one. If not the Gibson maybe a Johnson Style O. I have a friend that owns a music store and can get me a good deal on either but since I have very little knowledge about these guitars I wanted some advice.

Thanks in advance.
Chris Sullivan
Regular

Postby texas blues » Sun Aug 19, 2007 4:40 am

Welcome to the forum bro. We just had a little discussion about the lack of opinions and not much info on regarding major brands such as Fender and Gibson. I have played both the Hounddog and the Fender and the Johnson. I have an Orpheum which I love. Were I to decide between the Hounddog and the Johnson, personally I would go with the Johnson. Forum moderator Rico has one and loves it. Hopefully he will jump in here and 'splain you. Cheers mate!
texas blues
Regular

Postby grady » Sun Aug 19, 2007 5:04 am

Welcome to the Forum,

I have repaired a few of those HounDog models and here are the things I didn't like about them.

1- The bolts that hold the neck on are the exact same thing as those cheap Aluminum bolts you get at your local Lowe's or Home Depot.
I've replaced them on a couple HounDogs because they were stripped and allowed the neck to seperate from the body.

2- The supports in the Houndog are smaller than a pencil.

I recommend a Johnson with a National Cone upgrade.
grady
Regular

Postby heckergt » Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:28 am