Greatest Acoustic for the blues?

A discussion of techniques, and equipment for guitar. Fretted, bottleneck or slide, acoustic or electric, this is the place.

Greatest Acoustic for the blues?

Postby bjackson » Tue Nov 07, 2006 12:01 am

Hey folks.

I know this is a question with no answer but give me some opinions on your favorite acoustic guitars for the blues. I will be fretting AND sliding and just want a good player. Not a top notch Martin or Taylor but maybe mid range? ($300-700)I picked up an Alvarez with a cedar top the other day. Gorgeous and sounded real nice!! Wanted to see if anyone just hated Alvarez or if they were pretty good. Anyway, any opinions are appreciated. I like to research before I throw down the green.

BJ
bjackson
Regular

Postby songdog » Tue Nov 07, 2006 2:37 am

You can't go wrong with an Alvarez. I've been playing one since 1978.
songdog
Contributor
Contributor

Postby dogbite » Wed Nov 08, 2006 1:57 pm

cedar will give you a more mellow sound. that wood is used on classical guitars.
for a brighter sound spruce is used...as we all know form most of our guitars.
I think an Alveraz in cedar would be nice.
dogbite
Regular

Postby maxx england » Thu Nov 09, 2006 3:07 pm

Badffinger had a nice little Martin at Broughton Astley. Not a "big" sound, but such a lovely sweet tone.
maxx england
Contributor
Contributor

new Guilds?

Postby WeirdOlAndrew » Thu Nov 09, 2006 7:42 pm

I played one of those Chinese Guild dreadnoughts the other day. I have one of the great old Guild 12s from the 60s, and I was prepared to hate the new one. Flat surprised me, it did. Very nicely built, no visible flaws, nice tone and easy to play. Given a little time to 'open up' it'll be a really nice guitar. Doesn't have quite the feel of quality my old one does, but for under a grand......hard to beat. I like the neck on a Guild, they're a tad wider than most, and make it easy for my big paws to fit. Might want to give one a try
WeirdOlAndrew
Regular