Word Wrap?

Ideas, likes, dislikes, recommendations, and opinions regarding the Big Road Blues web site and forums.

Word Wrap?

Postby stumblin » Wed Sep 13, 2006 5:52 pm

Hi, sorry to be a stick in the mud and all that, but what's happening with all the long sentences going off the edge of the screen?
This forum has always previously fitted all the words in so I can read threads without having to scroll sideways.
Is it something to do with the settings at either end, or is it something I'll just have to learn to live with?
User avatar
stumblin
Regular
 
Posts: 1763
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 8:46 am
Location: Sheffburg SY

Postby pappyj » Wed Sep 13, 2006 8:56 pm

Can you point me to an example?
User avatar
pappyj
Site Admin
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 4:37 am
Location: Gloucester, VA USA

Postby stumblin » Wed Sep 13, 2006 9:10 pm

This thread:
http://www.bigroadblues.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3958
Is a particularly wide one.
Thanks for having a look Pappy. I'm puzzled about why this should happen, possibly something to do with my settings, but I haven't altered anything, so who knows?
User avatar
stumblin
Regular
 
Posts: 1763
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 8:46 am
Location: Sheffburg SY

Postby pappyj » Wed Sep 13, 2006 9:21 pm

Well, it that case there was a very long URL that someone had posted, and the rest of the posts just expanded to fill the width that the URL required. I have also seen this happen with large pictures. I broke that URL and everything now seems normal. So, it seems that the word wrap works, but the longest continous object in a post determines the width of that topic and everything else wraps to that. I don't know if there is a setting to change this, but I'll check.
User avatar
pappyj
Site Admin
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 4:37 am
Location: Gloucester, VA USA

Postby stumblin » Fri Sep 15, 2006 9:20 am

Thanks Pappy, I inderstand it now.
Sorry for the delayed response, I've had an internet service breakdown.
Spent several hours on the phone to the "help" guys before finally fixing it myself this morning.
User avatar
stumblin
Regular
 
Posts: 1763
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 8:46 am
Location: Sheffburg SY

Postby bosco » Fri Sep 15, 2006 2:18 pm

Pappy or Stumblin'-

How do you post a link that you can title an abbreviate?

I used to be able to do that with the old software by using brackets and a shift/ backslash, but I haven't figured out how to do it with the new format.

Thanks!
User avatar
bosco
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 1505
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 12:36 am
Location: Michigan

Postby stumblin » Sat Sep 16, 2006 12:29 pm

Bosco,
You click on the "url" button (top left). this makes [url] appear in your message window.
Then, put = before the second bracket and copy the url there, [url=insert url here].
You can enter your own text now, thus [url=insert url here] your text.
Then click the "url" button again.
It will look like this:
[url=insert url here]your text[/url].
When you post it, you'll have clickable text which links directly to your chosen url.
I hope that helps.

PS. I'm still experiencing technical internet connection difficulties, so I might not be around much for the next few days.
User avatar
stumblin
Regular
 
Posts: 1763
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 8:46 am
Location: Sheffburg SY

Postby bosco » Thu Sep 21, 2006 1:17 pm

Thanks, Stumbles...got it.

I have since found that if you put the cursor over the URL button while composing a post, it puts an example in the grey box over the main window.

Bosco
User avatar
bosco
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 1505
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 12:36 am
Location: Michigan


Return to Suggestion Box and Opinions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests