Hello all

A discussion of techniques, and equipment for guitar. Fretted, bottleneck or slide, acoustic or electric, this is the place.

Hello all

Postby lowery7 » Fri Sep 08, 2006 12:06 am

I'm new to slide guitar but really want to learn. Can anyone point me to some sites that will help? I have been playing for about 3 years and now I have really got into slide blues on acoustic. I have a Martin 00015 and a cheap slide. I'm thinking of buying a new slide any comments on what kind to get would help. Thanks for any help anyone can give. This is my first post so Hello to everyone and hope to get to know everyone.
Thanks for your time
Jeremy
lowery7
Regular

Postby guitarslim101 » Fri Sep 08, 2006 12:15 am

Welcome to the Big Road. This site is as good as any for learning slide tricks.
guitarslim101
Regular

Postby zhyla » Fri Sep 08, 2006 2:27 am

Regarding slides here's what I've gone thru so far:

1. Thin pyrex slide (Dunlop I think). Useless.
2. Thin brass slide (Dunlop again, I think). Usable but not real loud. Sharp corner makes it impossible to use the tip to slide on single strings.
3. Thick brass slide (Big Heart Bronze Bomber). Good, amazing tone, but sharp corner problem still.
4. Chrome Dome chrome/brass slide (Latch Lake I think). Big round end is ok but the slide is kind of concave. Maybe it's meant for something with a radiused fretboard.
5. Bronze Bomber modified to have round corners and smoother finish. Better. Thought this was "it" until...
6. Thick blue glass slide made from wine bottle this week. Good tone, rounded corner works great. Needs a little polishing and something stuffed in it to make it fit tighter. Easier to move around than the bomber becauses of the smoothness of the surface.

5 and 6 are pretty much tied right now.

If there's a moral to that list it's to try everything you can. But stay out of Guitar Center, you wouldn't believe the strange, gigantic things they sell for slides.
zhyla
Site Admin