Help with blow bends

The lowdown on the Mississippi Sax. Just for Google, this section is about harmonicas.

Help with blow bends

Postby bosco » Wed Jun 21, 2006 6:01 pm

Who among you pros has some practical, simple advice for executing blow bends?

It's probably the only technique I have never mastered on a diatonic harp. I can pucker, tongue block, warble, play octaves, comp and play damn near anything else blues related with the best of them. Polkas, Waltzes, Marches, folk tunes...got them too. Admittedly, my playing is much more feel driven than technique oriented with the majority being self taught over a 35 year period and now almost automatic. I've never really had a need for blow bends until now.

Here's the deal; I've been challenged by a friend of the band to learn and perform "Whammer Jammer." There's a crisp $50.00 bill in it for me and I've always wanted to be able to play the song anyway. Like a lot of other harpers I have avoided it until now largely because it is considered the "Free Bird" of harp tunes. I have the tab from Coast2Coast, the song on CD and can already play 90% of it. The #10 blow bend is holding me back at this point.

Serious responses only please from those that utilize the technique, no speculation.

I have the Portnoy Masterclass but can't recall a blow bend section in it, if there is one, a heads up would be appreciated. Thanks in advance-

Bosco
bosco
Contributor
Contributor

Postby jeffl » Wed Jun 21, 2006 6:31 pm

Bosco: check Portnoy's disc,somewhere between #15 and #18; I'm pretty sure he's got about a 3-minute segment on upper register blowbends. I'm not very good at 'em at all,so I don't use 'em,but I'm pretty sure I've worked a section from his disc on 'em.
jeffl
Contributor
Contributor

Postby kingley » Wed Jun 21, 2006 7:00 pm

Bosco,

Some of the tricks to getting blow bends are:
1. Don't blow too hard (softly, softly catchee monkey!)
2. Try going from saying eeee - oooo with your mouth shapes.