about the brozman dvd

A discussion of techniques, and equipment for guitar. Fretted, bottleneck or slide, acoustic or electric, this is the place.

about the brozman dvd

Postby matth12 » Mon Jun 19, 2006 7:42 pm

Would the dvd set be helpful to me if I play electric, or is there something else I should look for to learn more? I have never seen or heard of anyone using fingerpicks for electric slide. Also, is it a necessity to use the finger picks when learning brozman's method? I am pretty new to slide and am still trying to learn. Thanks for the help.
matth12
Regular

Postby srvlives » Mon Jun 19, 2006 10:13 pm

There would be plenty of other titles out there that would be more helpful for electric than Brozman's

As for fingerpicks, I don't think it's necessary, though if you have the choice, choose to learn to use them.
srvlives
Regular

Postby thebluescaster » Tue Jun 20, 2006 1:30 pm

The Brozman series is geared more toward getting that huge reso-acoustic sound out of fingerpicking slide. Some of what he teachs would be good for any style.

Fingerpicks are more often used to get more volume out of an acoustic, although some electric players like John Cippolina use them.

I'd check out the slide DVDs from Arlen Roth, or Roy Rogers if you want to focus on the 'classic' electric sound.
thebluescaster
Regular

Postby allanlummox » Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:19 pm

http://www.guitarworkshop.com/books/dvd ... electrics/

Check out Kirby Kelley's dvd.

He's a brilliant player, and a great guy.

The DVD's good, too.
allanlummox
Contributor
Contributor

Postby the_big_crunch » Tue Jun 20, 2006 3:47 pm