'bout me.

Required: Just registered? Give us a short introduction. You won't be able to post anywhere else until you have an approved post here.

Everything else -- questions, comments, observations -- should find a home in the other forums.

'bout me.

Postby technoweezie » Thu Jun 09, 2005 6:02 pm

I am new to guitars although I have been playing clarinet & sax on and off in amateur bands over the last 20+ years. My musical interests run the range from traditional to jazz, blues and folk. I had a cheap little guitar when I was a kid but I don't remember much about it. I seem to recall that the tuners started to strip shortly after I began playing it.

The horns have been sitting in the closet for a few years now; the family & pets finds my honking on a tenor sax to be disagreeable so I decided to take up guitar. The great thing about guitars is that you don't have to drain the spit out of them when you're done playing!

I really got caught up with resonator guitars and ended up taking advantage of the amazing sales on Rogue resonators at Musicians Friends. I guess tenor sax has just given me a taste for being loud.

Two guitars for the price of one can't be beat, I picked up the Rogue spider reso, closely followed by the Triolian when it went on sale. With two guitars I can now start getting the kids involved as well.

The posts on this and other boards helped me a lot in choosing guitars; keep up the good work.

technoweezie
technoweezie
Regular

RE: 'bout me.

Postby ricochet » Thu Jun 09, 2005 6:04 pm

>The great thing
>about guitars is that you don't have to drain the spit out
>of them when you're done playing!

At least, not if you're not a tobacco chewer.

Welcome, tw!

"A cheerful heart is good medicine."
ricochet
Regular

Postby bruneau » Thu Jun 09, 2005 8:35 pm

Welcome TechnoWeezie!!!

If you've seen 'Gizmo' the movie about oddities and inventions,
you know what it means draining spit out of instruments.
bruneau
Contributor
Contributor