Hello

Required: Just registered? Give us a short introduction. You won't be able to post anywhere else until you have an approved post here.

Everything else -- questions, comments, observations -- should find a home in the other forums.

Hello

Postby teiscomaniac » Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:10 am

I posted on this site a couple of years ago (under my actual name, Dan Gunter). I lost my password, so registered again using this name--which reveals the deep, dark secret of my love for the greatest guitars ever made: Teiscos!

I came to guitar late (I was 25) and have now been playing for more than 21 years. In real life I'm an attorney (there really goes the neighborhood!). I've always been too lazy actually to learn anything on guitar, so I'm a lousy player--but I'm improving as a collector! I am proud owner of a Teisco Spectrum 5 and a Teisco Checkmate 50. The amp was (according to the helpful folks at Trading Musician) formerly owned by Steve Turner, guitarist for Mudhoney. I have a few other Teiscos, some Epiphones, and a random assortment of other guitars. I usually play through a tiny old Silvertone amp (all tube, naturellement). I have long been a fan of Elmore James and Hound Dog Taylor--and now I have a true Hound Dog Taylor guitar! (I have seen one photo of him with a Spectrum 5.)

Given my work and limited guitaristic skills, I haven't hooked up with any truly compatible musicians here in Seattle. If you're here in Seattle and want to do some mindless jamming, I'll supply the mindlessness (assuming, of course, that one can provide an absence . . .).

Cheers,

Dan "Teiscomaniac" Gunter
teiscomaniac
Regular

RE: Hello

Postby boz » Thu Aug 19, 2004 10:55 am

Welcome Dan,(Again)
Uh..Can anything I say here be held against me ?
(Don't fall for any of Bubba'a knock knock jokes.)
boz
Contributor
Contributor

Postby bluesmcgoo » Thu Aug 19, 2004 12:34 pm

Hey Dan!

Welcome (back) to the Big Road!

Gotta love cheesy guitars!

Enjoy!

McGoo
bluesmcgoo
Contributor