Your first blues solo

A discussion of techniques, and equipment for guitar. Fretted, bottleneck or slide, acoustic or electric, this is the place.

Your first blues solo

Postby NoMoneyForCry » Sat Apr 16, 2011 8:09 pm

Hi!
I'm a very beginner blues guitar player, and I've just finished to study my first blues solo.
The choice was a little bit hard, because most of the songs that I know was too difficult for my level.

Anyway I've learned Malted Milk, from unplugged, Eric Clapton.
I chose it because it's not too fast, seems easy ("seems", because I found the last part a little hard...) and because in this period I'm listening a lot of Eric Clapton.

What's your first blues solo?
Do you still remember it?
And why you chose that?

I'm just curious, but maybe I could get any idea for the next solo I'm gonna learn... :)

Thank you!
NoMoneyForCry
Regular

Re: Your first blues solo

Postby boxertwin » Sun Apr 17, 2011 1:32 am

I take it you mean first Blues song, EC's version of Walkin Blues. Reason: not too difficult.
boxertwin
Regular

Postby NoMoneyForCry » Sun Apr 17, 2011 11:58 am

Well, I mean solo because I can't play the whole song, I can play just the solo.

Because I suppose the first thing a guitar player wants to do is a nice solo... am I the only one? :)
NoMoneyForCry
Regular

Postby allanlummox » Sun Apr 17, 2011 11:13 pm

Yep. I started by learning the chords to a song - "House of the rising sun", by the way - and built from there.

My first solo will have been an improvised affair, based on a "box" format Blues scale. But I really mainly play improvised solos now as well - that's what I thought they were supposed to be. I still don't know any 'note for note' guitar solos - and I've been playing for around 30 years.
allanlummox
Contributor
Contributor

Postby rustyslide » Mon Apr 18, 2011 1:26 am

I started learning whole songs too. First blues solo from a real blues or blues-rock song was probably Crossroads, Hidaway, or Mary Had A Little Lamb.
rustyslide