My New Recording King 991

A discussion of techniques, and equipment for guitar. Fretted, bottleneck or slide, acoustic or electric, this is the place.

My New Recording King 991

Postby BlindLemonPledge » Mon Mar 21, 2011 8:34 pm

Hey all,

I am brand new to slide playing and this site , and resonator as well. I just bought a RK 991 all metal tricone, and I love it. I'm sure it will keep me happy for a long time.
I reckon I'm here just to learn techniques and tips on bottle neck. I have been playing acoustic guitar for 30+ years so I know a little bit about playing.

As of this writing I have a metal slide and it sounds pretty raw. I am contemplating making myself a glass bottleneck with a dremel tool and a bottle. Just have to find the best bottle for my finger. Gonna try copper too see how that sounds.

Song wise I'm gonna start slow with "I Can't Be Satisfied" and "Walking Blues". I have been checking You Tube and there is a bunch of free video to watch. Any other suggestions from members here will help. I went to another Resonator players site but it seems they pretty much are all Square Neck players. So I came here.

I love the blues from the 30's up to the present. Any suggestions of music will help too.

Thanks for readin'

BLP 8)
BlindLemonPledge
Regular

Re: My New Recording King 991

Postby Disciple » Mon Mar 21, 2011 11:54 pm

Making a slide out of glass couldn't be easier.

I cut my first today using my Tile Saw. Diamond blade in a water bath, it literally cut the bottle neck off as easily as it cuts tile, perhaps even a little quicker.

The polishing is a bit of a deal, a dremel would definitely help there.

I learned a little something, the taper being narrow end at the base of your finger and wider end near the tip actually helps you maintain your grip if the tube fits a bit larger. If you get an ideal fit like I have with the Redhouse slide I purchased it doesn't matter a bout taper.