thoughts on this....

A discussion of techniques, and equipment for guitar. Fretted, bottleneck or slide, acoustic or electric, this is the place.

thoughts on this....

Postby hoboblues » Wed Jun 30, 2010 7:33 am

I am a rather beginner player but can play some because I have played other instruments in the past. I have been playing older blues like Big Bill Broonzy and Mississippi John Hurt.

I have been contemplating buying a telecaster to fingerpick on and one of those Roland Cube Mini-Amps. I hope to busk one day so that made sense to me (a newby) and also I live in a condo.

Any thoughts on this? Are there other electric fingerpickers out there?
hoboblues
Regular

Re: thoughts on this....

Postby leftyguitarman » Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:59 am

I mainly fingerpick on the electric. Most of my technique is (poorly) ripped off from Mark Knopfler. I've been GAS'ing for a Tele too, however I've never used those Roland amps. They're loved by many, so they can't be too bad. What line of Tele are you looking at? Have you tried out the Squier Classic Vibes? They are a great guitar for the money.
leftyguitarman
Regular

Postby hoboblues » Wed Jun 30, 2010 1:23 pm

Thanks Lefty. It almost definitely will be a Squier Vibe guitar. I had a Squier standard Tele back in high school and loved it. The only semi-knock I had on it were the pick-ups/wiring which I imagine would be better in the Vibe series. So some sort of Squier Tele classic vibe for sure.

What I like about the Roland micro-cube is the "acoustic" simulation. I really liked the sound down at the music store. Had a nice "fingerpicking" sound.
hoboblues
Regular

Postby leftyguitarman » Wed Jun 30, 2010 5:37 pm

The pickups in the Classic Vibes are pretty decent pickups, as far as MIC pickups go. If you do some research, there's a lot of evidence to show that Fender is basically buying the pickups from Tonerider and putting them in the CV series.

Scope out the Strat-talk forum for more info. It's a good forum.