Resonator strings…

A discussion of techniques, and equipment for guitar. Fretted, bottleneck or slide, acoustic or electric, this is the place.

Resonator strings…

Postby Buffalo_Bill » Sun Dec 20, 2009 5:44 pm

Does anyone prefer bronze wound strings on their resonator? I'm brand new to resonators, I had medium bronze wound strings on mine for a week, then put some nickel wound resonator strings on. (Both string types were Martin).
I'm not sure the nickel wound sound better than bronze wound, maybe I like bronze better.
What's your opinion?
Buffalo_Bill
Regular

Re: Resonator strings…

Postby DeFord Harp Slider » Sun Dec 20, 2009 10:06 pm

I have been told that it doesn't matter because the cone is what is making the sound..... I tried stainless steel, and bronze and like the bronze strings the best. They just sound better to me and seem to have more sustain.
DeFord Harp Slider
Regular

Postby bigdaddyguitar » Mon Dec 21, 2009 1:20 am

I believe bronze is recommended .
bigdaddyguitar
Regular

Postby ricochet » Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:58 am

Depends on who's doing the recommending. Both are good. It's a matter of personal taste.
ricochet
Regular

Postby bluesthang » Mon Dec 21, 2009 1:37 pm

I agree that everything is about personal taste. It's what sounds best to YOUR ears and what feels better in YOUR hands..there are no rules.
I use the bronze strings myself most of the time. But when I do a show and need to use my lace pickup i have no choice but to use the nickel wound strings or else the pickup doesn't work with the bronze strings.
But the bronze strings do seem to have a richer sound to them...
Its all about what YOU like best as a sound.
bluesthang
Regular

Postby ricochet » Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:59 pm