Blues settings for Line 6 Spider III amp

Problems with equipment? Problem fitting them into the above forums? Post 'em here.

Blues settings for Line 6 Spider III amp

Postby hollywoodmark » Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:17 pm

i just came into possession of a Line 6 Spider III 30-watt amp. Not the best amp for blues, I know, but I got it for virtually nothing. Unlike some of the bigger Line 6 Spiders, it doesn't have a "blues" model setting, so I'll have to come up with my own. I realize that it's dependent largely on the guitar I'm using, but it'd be great to have a starting point.

Anyone out there playing the blues on this amp and who'd care to share?

Thanks!
hollywoodmark
Regular
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:47 pm
Location: South Florida, where the 'gators are hungry and the blues are hot

Re: Blues settings for Line 6 Spider III amp

Postby TheFanHead » Sun Feb 28, 2010 10:18 pm

A good way to start is to use the crunch channel and turn the gain down. Then mess with the eq until you find what works for you. Or even using the clean channel. For distortion turn up the channel vloume and gain full whack. Hope this helps :mrgreen:
TheFanHead
Regular
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 9:14 am
Location: Sunny Thornton Le Dale, 15 miles from scarborough and home of the gods :D

Re: Blues settings for Line 6 Spider III amp

Postby hollywoodmark » Mon Mar 01, 2010 3:53 pm

Thanks, FH. I'll start messing around with these options and see where it goes! Really appreciate it.

Do you use trem or reverb at all? I see some of the other guys like to incorporate these.
hollywoodmark
Regular
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:47 pm
Location: South Florida, where the 'gators are hungry and the blues are hot

Re: Blues settings for Line 6 Spider III amp

Postby TheFanHead » Mon Mar 01, 2010 4:30 pm

I use the reverb thats built in and the trem sometimes.....i prefer my boss tr-2 for tremolo.
TheFanHead
Regular
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 9:14 am
Location: Sunny Thornton Le Dale, 15 miles from scarborough and home of the gods :D

Re: Blues settings for Line 6 Spider III amp

Postby hollywoodmark » Wed Mar 03, 2010 12:53 pm

I was re-reading your post, FH. Do I understand correctly that for the clean channel you're suggesting setting the gain and channel volume at max? Thanks.
hollywoodmark
Regular
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:47 pm
Location: South Florida, where the 'gators are hungry and the blues are hot

Re: Blues settings for Line 6 Spider III amp

Postby leftyguitarman » Wed Mar 03, 2010 10:58 pm

I recently did some recordings with a Line 6 Spider III. For almost all of the recordings I did, I set the gain and channel volume at max.
User avatar
leftyguitarman
Regular
 
Posts: 3183
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 3:48 am
Location: Washington State

Re: Blues settings for Line 6 Spider III amp

Postby hollywoodmark » Thu Mar 04, 2010 3:05 pm

Using the "clean" channel, right, Lefty?

Glad to hear it's a good enough amp for recording. I was beginning to question my decision to rescue it from pawn-land.
hollywoodmark
Regular
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:47 pm
Location: South Florida, where the 'gators are hungry and the blues are hot

Re: Blues settings for Line 6 Spider III amp

Postby leftyguitarman » Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:42 pm

Yeah, on the clean channel.

IMO, those amps are kind of stale sounding when you play them through the speaker. But if you use the line out and record into a mixing bored, the amp provides a really nice clean tone that you can use as a base to build up your tone on.
User avatar
leftyguitarman
Regular
 
Posts: 3183
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 3:48 am
Location: Washington State

Re: Blues settings for Line 6 Spider III amp

Postby hollywoodmark » Fri Mar 05, 2010 1:59 pm

OK, bro, thanks for the tip.
hollywoodmark
Regular
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:47 pm
Location: South Florida, where the 'gators are hungry and the blues are hot

Re: Blues settings for Line 6 Spider III amp

Postby jaybee » Sun Mar 07, 2010 2:34 pm

definitely clean channel, if you want OD, use your pedal of choice... if I've said it once I said it a 1000 times: I DON'T NEED CHANNEL SWITCHING - all I need is a good clean sound, the rest I'll do with my SD-1 if needed. This way, I can play anything anywhere and still sound (almost) the same: I bring a guitar and pedal, plug into any amp... no big deal
User avatar
jaybee
Regular
 
Posts: 512
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 10:53 am
Location: Antwerp, Belgium


Return to Equipment Blues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests