Chronotron II

[Locked - post in relevant instrument/gig/recording section]

Chronotron II

Postby davidz_co » Sun Mar 23, 2003 7:42 pm

Regarding software to adjust tempo of digital music
while letting pitch remain constant, the Chronotron II
(v.3.0) is available. It works with Windows Media Player or
Winamp, and best of all, it's free!

Here's the homepage with all the specs:

http://www.chronotron.com/
User avatar
davidz_co
Regular
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

RE: Chronotron II

Postby badfinger » Sun Mar 23, 2003 11:53 pm

[updated:LAST EDITED ON Mar-23-03 AT 07:03 PM (EST)]Thanks for the tip.
Hmmm... tempting. Something to work with WMP.
I'll try it, BUT it's for wmp9 (which only works properly with WinSP). The player for win9x is wmp7.

Will report on the bastardisation...

Nope - been there, done that. Can't get it to work with wmp7, and last time I tried to install wmp9, it didn't hackle. I'll try again, but it's late just now...


bf
badfinger
Regular
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 11:51 pm

RE: Chronotron II

Postby ricochet » Mon Mar 24, 2003 5:20 am

T'ain't free (except for the limited trial version), but "The Amazing Slow Downer" will do all that and also let you transpose the pitch if you so desire. Comes in both Windows and Mac flavors, including MacOS X.

I THINK the address is http://ronisoftware.com/ Something like that.
User avatar
ricochet
Regular
 
Posts: 10256
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

RE: Chronotron II

Postby davidz_co » Mon Mar 24, 2003 5:24 am

Your reply to my post sounds incomprehensible. 90% of your reply
made no sense to me. I have a fairly new computer running Windows
XP, I updated my WMP to the latest version--very simple.
The Chronotron II does what it says it should with no problems.


>Thanks for the tip.
>Hmmm... tempting. Something to work with WMP.
>I'll try it, BUT it's for wmp9 (which only works properly
>with WinSP). The player for win9x is wmp7.
>
>Will report on the bastardisation...
>
>Nope - been there, done that. Can't get it to work with
>wmp7, and last time I tried to install wmp9, it didn't
>hackle. I'll try again, but it's late just now...
>
>
>bf
User avatar
davidz_co
Regular
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

RE: Chronotron II

Postby badfinger » Mon Mar 24, 2003 8:29 am

[font color=yellow]"Your reply to my post sounds incomprehensible. 90% of your reply made no sense to me..."[/font]

OK...

[font color=yellow]1. Thanks for the tip. [/font] = "Thank you for the information and link about this new version of Chronotron."

[font color=yellow]2. Hmmm... tempting. Something to work with WMP.[/font] = "That it (ChrII) works with WMP is an attractive feature... The earlier version only works with Winamp."

[font color=yellow]3. I'll try it..., [/font] = "I'll try it..."

[font color=yellow]4. BUT it's for wmp9, which only works properly with WinSP*.
[/font] = "Chr.II is designed to work with WMP9. WMP9 is designed to work in WinXP." (*Typo for WinXP.)”

[font color=yellow]5. The player for win9x is wmp7.[/font] = "The player for win9x is wmp7."

Lines 4. and 5., effectively state that
a.)Chronotron II is developed to work with WMP9;
b.) WMP9 is designed to work in WinXP.

Lines 4. and 5. also intend to suggest that
a.) should one have Win9x, then one (ostensibly) cannot use WMP9, but is stuck with WMP7;
b.) should one have Win9x, and thus WMP7, one cannot use Chronotron II.

(What, perhaps, is missing here, is the clear statement that I am running Win98.)

[font color=yellow]6. Will report on the bastardisation...[/font] = “I will report on tests and experiments to match WMP9 to Win9x. (With unstated reference to line 3.: “I’ll try it.”)”

(What, perhaps, is missing here, is a clear indication other than context, content, and the ‘edit’ note, that some minutes have passed between lines 6. and 7., during which time I attempted to install Chronotron II with WMP7, in Win98.)

[font color=yellow]7. Nope - been there, done that.[/font] = “I attempted to install Chronotron II with WMP7, in Win98.”

[font color=yellow]8. Can't get it to work with wmp7, and last time I tried to install wmp9, it didn't hackle. [/font] = “I am unable to make Chronotron II work with WMP7, and the last time I tried to install WMP9, I was unsuccessful (it being for WinXP... etc.)”

[font color=yellow]9. I'll try again, but it's late just now...[/font] = “At some time, I shall have another go at installing WMP9 and/or Chronotron II, but its late into the night and I am tired...”


Does that help?

bf
badfinger
Regular
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 11:51 pm

RE: Chronotron II

Postby sandy » Mon Mar 24, 2003 6:02 pm

A translation and yellow letters. Is there no end to this man's talents?
User avatar
sandy
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

RE: Chronotron II

Postby badfinger » Mon Mar 24, 2003 10:59 pm

[font color=red]You[/font] [font color=blue size=6]ain't[/font] [font color=yellow size=12]seen[/font] [font color=green size=14][b]nothin'[/font][i] [font color=pink size=22]yet[b][/font][font color=pink size=18]...[b][/font]



Meanwhile, too right, Ric - it costs. I found a thing called "SlowMeDown" that's rather nice, easy to use (Winamp, only), has a pitch-shifter, and is free. Don't know where I found it, but a search might turn it up.

bf
badfinger
Regular
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 11:51 pm

RE: Chronotron II

Postby hashtaff » Tue Mar 25, 2003 6:47 am

>Your reply to my post sounds incomprehensible. 90% of your
>reply
>made no sense to me.

UH OH, someone should've warned you. Now you've gone and pissed off badfing. Better start packing would be my advice.
User avatar
hashtaff
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 7:01 am
Location: Hobart, Tasmamia, Australia

RE: Chronotron II

Postby allanlummox » Tue Mar 25, 2003 6:56 am

Fingo, you never cease to crack me up...

By the way, if Badfinger isn't coming to "Big Road By The Bay" in '05, then I don't see much point....
User avatar
allanlummox
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 2843
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Dorset, Vermont

RE: Chronotron II

Postby badfinger » Tue Mar 25, 2003 10:05 am

Not pissed off at all! Just having fun - hell's bells, I couldn't understand it myself when I looked back at it!

As I said - what is missing is the clear indication of time passing during which...etc.

Meanwhile, MS now have a version of WMP9 for Win98SE (But only 'SE'), and true 'nuff the Chr.II is good (I tried it) - but costs!

"BR-By-The-Bay" - I can't get excited about, or even interested in, something that ain't gonna happen for 30 months!

Come back in two years time, when it's only about 6 months away.


bf
badfinger
Regular
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 11:51 pm

RE: Chronotron II

Postby houndog » Tue Mar 25, 2003 6:27 pm

> I found a thing called "SlowMeDown" that's rather nice, easy to use
>
>bf

I would't bother BaddFing...just lay aff the gin and the diet pills.

arf,
Lovat

(PS.I have seen this man trying to induce a hapless waitress to mainline coffee into his collapsed veins )
User avatar
houndog
Regular
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 6:48 pm

RE: Chronotron II

Postby badfinger » Tue Mar 25, 2003 6:54 pm

Well it was such a weak brew!

Whatever happened to Aspro and Coca-Cola?



bf
badfinger
Regular
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 11:51 pm

RE: Chronotron II

Postby ricochet » Wed Mar 26, 2003 2:16 am

>Whatever happened to Aspro and Coca-Cola?

They went SO well with smoking banana peels!
User avatar
ricochet
Regular
 
Posts: 10256
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

RE: Chronotron II

Postby badfinger » Wed Mar 26, 2003 8:14 am

"Call me Mellow-Yellow..."


bf
badfinger
Regular
 
Posts: 405
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 11:51 pm

RE: Chronotron II

Postby ricochet » Wed Mar 26, 2003 7:11 pm

Quite rightly.
User avatar
ricochet
Regular
 
Posts: 10256
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

Next

Return to Wish I'd Known This!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests