Getting to your gigs

Problems, how to get them, favorite songs to play, groupies, funky bar owners, etc. NO names of clubs, please.

Getting to your gigs

Postby stratman_27 » Tue Apr 25, 2006 7:54 pm

Has the price of gasoline affected you as far as what you have to charge to play a gig. Or has anyone had to turn turn down a gig because its going to be to far away to be cost effective for you to play. My band is still in the rehearsal stage so we're not traveling to play gigs yet but hope too soon. Fortunately we all have day jobs and don't depend on music to keep our electric on.

"You Damn Right I Got the Blues" Buddy Guy
stratman_27
Regular

RE: Getting to your gigs

Postby watertore » Tue Apr 25, 2006 11:58 pm

I haven't worried about it. When I started playing for money, in the 70's, I got between $200-600 a night, and was playing 5-7 days a week. If I had any concern of $ today, it would be the pay. I couldn't get a $200 guarantee today, for a million bucks :) It has never to cease to amaze me, that over the years, musician pay has gone steadily down. I lived pretty high on the hog, in my earlier days. Now, I have a day job. Walter
watertore
Contributor
Contributor

Postby lightninboy » Fri Apr 28, 2006 2:41 pm

Same here in Australia.
Muso's pay hasn't got any worse, its stayed the same, while inflation puts up everything else.
I get payed about the same now as I did 20 years ago.
Now that sucks!
Where's the union? :)

As for fuel, well thats not a problem yet, but I'm guessing it soon will be.
lightninboy
Contributor
Contributor

Postby jaybee » Tue May 02, 2006 12:59 pm

I never worried about gas prices, ever since I got my licence, I always tanked for the same amount ;)
jaybee
Regular

Postby lorilu » Tue May 02, 2006 11:45 pm