What Is Our Business Model Now?

Problems, how to get them, favorite songs to play, groupies, funky bar owners, etc. NO names of clubs, please.

What Is Our Business Model Now?

Postby Honeyboy » Sat Aug 04, 2012 6:38 pm

I've been a professional musician for over 40 years. Obviously things have changed a lot in those 40 years. In the beginning I could make pretty good money gigging and selling a few records (gee I forgot when I started they only had records... whew).

But now it's hard to sell music except at gigs or on your website. Forget about getting a record contract. Online downloads has taken care of that unless you go totally pop or get real lucky.

So the question is... how do we make money now. Is it down to...

1. Get fans through various online methods

2. Get gigs (because you have fans now or because you play what the club owner wants to hear)

3. Sell CD's to the people that come to gigs.

Has this become our only business model?

What if you don't want to play lousy gigs?

How do you get to that mid level where you can sell enough music to relax or have enough fans to just play good gigs at larger venues.

Love to hear everyone's thoughts on this?

Rick Honeyboy Hart
Honeyboy
Regular

Re: What Is Our Business Model Now?

Postby jawbone60 » Wed Nov 07, 2012 1:09 pm

This has always been an avocation rather than my career. Good thing or I would have died of it long ago! I didn't even get started, really until the mid 90's when i was in my late 30's. Pay was higher over all at that time and place than it is here and now.
Wife and I have a duo and we sell cd's mostly hand to hand. We don't play gigs because her shoulder won't let her play guitar that long.
I have another partner who I do duo stuff and 4 piece stuff with. We take lower pay sometimes just to get out and be noticed. We have no cd as yet but hope to next year.