copy cat blues

Problems with equipment? Problem fitting them into the above forums? Post 'em here.

copy cat blues

Postby mike932 » Thu Dec 25, 2008 4:59 pm

Awhile back someone posted a video of two blokes playing the blues , one on the harp, the other on a ukulele, I really liked their music. I reviewed the video numerous times and decided to give it a try. I bought a lanakai baritone ukulele, put special made strings which have some wire in them and installed a Dean Markley "putty on" pickup. Using a DGBE tuning I put on my plastic pima picks, grabbed a glass slide and proceeded to impress my girlfriend, her daughter , my son and myself. The Uke is just pure fun to play the blues on. When I was in the Army , my platoon Sergeant was Hawaiian and played a mean Uke, the dude even played some cool blue licks, so I knew it could be done. I am working on playing the harp at the same time, kind of a Island Bob Dylan thing. I have been learning the slide guitar for a couple of years now and enjoy playing , but I am not gig worthy yet. The uke is a novelty but is a lot of fun. I have a pos Squire 7 string I use to play slide on, another novelty and it also is a blast to goof off on. I tune it to either open G or E and use the bottom bass string for a thumper (tune it to the song key and strike it with my thumb). Life is too short to stay inside the box.
mike932
Regular

Re: copy cat blues

Postby LesFromChicago » Sun Dec 28, 2008 10:06 pm

Your baritone uke story brings back fond memories.
During about my 9th winter my father got us a baritone ukele. We kids always had a standard size uke or 2 around, and my father had showed us how to finger some chords and I-IV-V etc,
but the baritone uke was much closer to a guitar and I played it until I got my 1st guitar at about 16 yrs of age. Yes I agree and know from experience too that a baritone uke CAN play some blues.
LesFromChicago
Regular

Postby mike932 » Mon Dec 29, 2008 1:31 am