Fender '59 Bassman (reissue)

Problems with equipment? Problem fitting them into the above forums? Post 'em here.

Fender '59 Bassman (reissue)

Postby BlueFinn » Sun Apr 20, 2008 4:39 pm

Hi all!

As you might have noticed I'm new in the forum and this is my first topic I've posted. As I'm not a pro or have played 35 years or so I have a question.

I'm sick of my tiny VOX 15W Valvetronix and I'm looking forward of gettin' a bassman reissue and I was wondering: is it worth the money? I've heard two kinds of comments about it some tellin' me to go for it and other tellin' me not to go for it. Which ones should I believe?

Any advice?

P.S. One more thing: how loud you'll have to crank the volume on bassman to get at least a bit of overdrive?
BlueFinn
Regular

Re: Fender '59 Bassman (reissue)

Postby ricochet » Sun Apr 20, 2008 4:49 pm

It's a big, loud amp. If you're going to be gigging in medium sized clubs or small auditoriums, go for it. You'll have to have it cranked pretty much wide open to get output stage distortion. It works well with overdrive pedals on the front end, of course.
ricochet
Regular

Postby BlueFinn » Sun Apr 20, 2008 4:52 pm

thanks a lot!

i've heard stories that you can get it overdriveing by setting the volume somewhere past 7 o'clok is this true?
BlueFinn
Regular

Postby ricochet » Sun Apr 20, 2008 4:57 pm

You'll start getting some as you approach full volume, of course. Depends on how hard you're pushing it on the input, the tubes you're using and how the bias is set, and what you want to hear. It's not the amp you want if you expect really heavy overdrive distortion. I think amps are risky to recommend to others, and risky to buy without playing yourself. Everyone has different ideas of what they like.
ricochet
Regular

Postby BlueFinn » Sun Apr 20, 2008 4:59 pm

ricochet wrote:Everyone has different ideas of what they like.

agreed
BlueFinn
Regular

Postby texas blues » Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:57 pm