Need Advice: Gibson or Epiphone?

Problems with equipment? Problem fitting them into the above forums? Post 'em here.

Need Advice: Gibson or Epiphone?

Postby herb_ransburg » Mon Feb 12, 2007 2:37 am

Sorry for such a question to this post, but I need some "real opinions" and not those from the guys selling the gear (know what I mean?).

I have been playing (at the stores) Standards, Studios, and Classics. I played a collection of Gibsons and Epiphones. I think I played too many over the past few days, and now I am totaly confused.

Bottom line, are the $1000-$1700 Gibsons THAT much better than the $500-$1000 Epiphones? I tried to be consistent and play them through a Tweed Fender '59 Bassman or Tweed Blues Junior. Of my five amps, these are the two that I use 98% of the time. Any commentary would be great.

Still learning and taking medication for G.A.S,

Herb
herb_ransburg
Regular

Postby grady » Mon Feb 12, 2007 4:02 am

Ok Herb,

I've been playing Guitars for 21 years now, the majority of those years, I've played Professionally.
I've owned Gibson Les Pauls,SG's,Flying V's...both Vintage and New models.
In fact, a 1970 LP Custom was my one of my favorite guitars until the neck started "twisting" on it. NOT "Bowing" which can be corrected with a Truss Rod adjustment, it actually twisted.
I've had other LP Guitars from the 70's and I've played every LP that has come thru my local shops.

I'm currently thinking of purchasing a Epiphone Les Paul Classic that was just traded in at my local store.

I like Epiphone Guitars,, I think they're great.

I do not care for the newer LP models from Gibson.
They don't feel like the older ones did.

While at my local store the other day, the Manager who is a good friend of mine called Gibson about a new Gibson Chet Atkins model that he sold a week ago.
The Customer brought it back for repairs because the nut was cut wrong.
You couldn't play the Guitar without the High E slipping off of the side of the Fretboard.