Page 3 of 3

Re: What do you use for reverb on a non-reverb amp ?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:41 pm
by jeffl
I'm clear bottleneck..thanks.

Re: What do you use for reverb on a non-reverb amp ?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:46 pm
by birddog
Bottleneck, you mis-understood.
I'm not building a bassman, I bought one on the bay. I worked but needed some new pots & needs new caps. With help of someone that has the technical expetise and the equipment,(lifelong friend) we are making some mods to it at the same time, mostly to the bass channel thats not guitar friendly anyhow. Hopefully we will "tweed" out that channel and while we are at it, I brought the head enclosure home and am stripping that, re-doing it in tweed to match the cab I got for it with a raised leather handle & oxblood grille cloth to match the head also.

Through this project I'm learning and already thinking about building an amp kit, this is getting highly addictive. But I will wait-n-see how this comes out, If its the Tone Monster I'm hoping maybe I'll be done.
I have learned a bunch doing all the research, actually building the stand alone reverb unit would be easier than most amp kits. :mrgreen:
I'll post a full photo layout of the amp process when its done.

Wally

Re: What do you use for reverb on a non-reverb amp ?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2009 2:21 am
by Mississippi John
For all you Holy Grail users out there;

Do you get a NOTICABLE volume drop when the grail is engaged? I do, and I wonder if this is normal. thx.

Re: What do you use for reverb on a non-reverb amp ?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2009 12:05 pm
by birddog
Mississippi John wrote:For all you Holy Grail users out there;

Do you get a NOTICABLE volume drop when the grail is engaged? I do, and I wonder if this is normal. thx.


John, I haven't heard that but I don't have one either.
I have heard on another board from more than one source that they are a tone sucker when off.

Wally

Re: What do you use for reverb on a non-reverb amp ?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:09 pm
by profgalen
Bit-Mo offers a kit to turn a Epi Valve Jr. into a tube driven reverb unit. Looks interesting. probably a lot cheaper than $750
http://www.bitmomodkits.com/servlet/the ... NIT/Detail

Re: What do you use for reverb on a non-reverb amp ?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:49 pm
by Bluesrocker
Sorry to disagree, but when I was looking for a reverb for my Bluesbreaker I was continually told to buy the Holy Grail, that it was the greatest, so I bought it. Big mistake. Whether you had it on Hall or Plate, it sounded too digital. The "flerb" effect was useless trash. You couldn't control the decay, either, it just went on and on, really annoying. Also, you can't use a battery in that thing, just the ac adaptor which is made just for the Grail, you can't use any other ac adaptor off the rack, so watch out. Big waste of money.

Re: What do you use for reverb on a non-reverb amp ?

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 1:56 am
by guitarslim101
profgalen wrote:Bit-Mo offers a kit to turn a Epi Valve Jr. into a tube driven reverb unit. Looks interesting. probably a lot cheaper than $750
http://www.bitmomodkits.com/servlet/the ... NIT/Detail


I wouldn't mind given one of those a try. Could be fun.

Re: What do you use for reverb on a non-reverb amp ?

PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 1:05 pm
by TheDude
You know Boss have a new pedal which is a copy of the Fender reverb unit. It's called the FRV-1 and from the clips on youtube I'd say it sounds pretty good.

Probably not as warm and lush as the real deal, but then it only costs a fraction of a real Fender reverb. Plus it's a lot smaller/lighter to carry around.

Re: What do you use for reverb on a non-reverb amp ?

PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 1:41 pm
by sweetness
I use the Pro Jr, which has no reverb. I posted earlier that I use the Corned Beef. Recently I bought a used Holy Grail. I found out, as someone here noted, that it doesn't take a battery, and you have to use their proprietary wall wart (though I've heard the 1Spot works with it).

Anyway, I got the wall wart, and I'm enjoying its sounds. I haven't tried it out yet, though. I keep it on the spring setting about 1/4 of the way up. YMMV.

Re: What do you use for reverb on a non-reverb amp ?

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 7:04 pm
by DRU LORE
Here's a great trick for any 2 channel amp without reverb.
Pick the deepest sounding channel and plug your guitar in.
Use a cable from the second jack of that same channel to a reverb/ delay unit of your choice.
Come back out of the effect into the second, bright, channel of your amp.

This allows several cool things to happen:

-You can blend WET and DRY signals using the channel volume controls. This makes your amp have a bigger presence in the aural soundstage of the listener.
The dry signal is an "advancing" sound, keeping your guitar at the "front", whilst the Wet (echo,reverb) signal fills the periphery, creating an illusion of space . By blending wet and dry you will never fade into the back of a band's sound.
- Since you are BLENDNG the sounds, cheesier (and less expensive) delay/ reverb units can be used, and used harder, since they will be mixed with a warm dry sound. I've found that by using this technique I got great overall sounds from the amp, using effects which I did not like by themselves when they were
simply run inline with the guitar to a single channel.

I've had great results with the Alesis Microverb and Microverb II using this technique.

Season's best,
DRU

Re: What do you use for reverb on a non-reverb amp ?

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 2:02 am
by stratman_27
This is exactly why I use two amplifiers. I have a Fender Super Reverb and JTM45 Clone Combo. But seriously I prefer a light touch of analog delay over reverb anyday.