Is there a reasonably priced tricone cutaway?

A discussion of techniques, and equipment for guitar. Fretted, bottleneck or slide, acoustic or electric, this is the place.

Is there a reasonably priced tricone cutaway?

Postby OldWailer » Sat Dec 20, 2008 1:54 am

I've been messing around with an old Blueridge flattop that I made into a slide guitar--but I'm
getting a real bad GAS attack for a tricone.

Trouble is, a 12-fret guitar just isn't right for me--I gotta have either 14 frets or a cutaway.

I know--there are some really cool National's--including the Baritone, (which just makes me harder than
chinese algebra)--but they all cost well in excess of $2000.

I emailed Frank at Republic to ask about a tricone for me--but he said they don't have anything but
12-fretters at this time.

I'm new to bottlenecking--but I've been playing guitar for over 40 years--I use the frets above 12 frequently.

Is there a reasonably priced tricone that is good, and reasonably priced???
OldWailer
Regular

Re: Is there a reasonably priced tricone cutaway?

Postby farmslave » Sat Dec 20, 2008 7:19 pm

Stick with the Nationals for a cutaway IMO. You know, National makes the Reso Rocket PC in a cutaway single cone. And Reso Rocket Vintage Steel in a single cone cutaway.. They are about $2,500 or more. . as far as the National Cutaway Tricones they start at about $2.900 for a cutaway. BUT you can find these guitars cheaper through CERTAIN dealers.
I have a Vintage Steele National 12 fret that I have no problem flying up the upper frets with, it just takes time for the adjustments to make the flight , but it can be done.
BTW my tricone is for sale, I need a National Baritone, or another National single cone..
Good Luck....

http://www.youtube.com/1farmslave
http://www.soundclick.com/farmslave
farmslave
Regular

Postby Old Stella » Sat Dec 20, 2008 8:59 pm