instructional dvds

A discussion of techniques, and equipment for guitar. Fretted, bottleneck or slide, acoustic or electric, this is the place.

instructional dvds

Postby rookie » Thu Feb 23, 2006 2:09 pm

Apologies if this has been well covered before, but I've only got internet access at work, which means I'm still only halfway through the Blues Harp archives. But can anyone recommend a visual tutorial that gets the complete novice into doing blues tunes right from the start?

If not, I could live with that. But when I started learning keyboard I got really frustrated being expected to learn crap like Abba and stuff, so when I found a 'learn blues keyboard' dvd, it was like gold dust. It worked, too. But I would imagine that due to the very nature of the guitar, the tunes that you learn are slightly less twee than you would find in a piano course?
rookie
Contributor
Contributor

RE: instructional dvds

Postby norman » Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:10 pm

http://www.guitarvideos.com
http://www.homespuntapes.com

They have clips of most every instructional dvds. Both companies usually carry high quality products.

Ciao
norman
Regular

Postby kotiaho » Mon Feb 27, 2006 12:26 pm

There are plenty of good stuff available.

I trust in these teachers, for example:
Stefan Grossman (guitarvideos.com)
Roy Book Binder (his two "Blues by the book" DVDs are a must, I hear! http://www.roybookbinder.com/ )
Kenny Sultan (really liked his Blues Legends tab book, http://www.bassharp.com/tomball.htm )
Fred Sokolow (I really like this guy http://members.aol.com/sokolowmus/blues.htm )
Keith Wyatt (not my fave, but still good, and a ver nice guy too)
Happy Traum (homespuntapes, good teacher)
Mark Hanson (has two DVDs on fingerpicking)
Dave Rubin (I think he has tab books only)
Woody Mann (more advanced, has DVDs on different pre-WWII blues icons).
kotiaho
Regular

Postby rookie » Fri Mar 03, 2006 1:37 pm