Best Acoustic For......

A discussion of techniques, and equipment for guitar. Fretted, bottleneck or slide, acoustic or electric, this is the place.

Best Acoustic For......

Postby marlboroman » Tue Apr 11, 2006 7:54 pm

[updated:LAST EDITED ON Apr-11-06 AT 03:57 PM (EST)]What do you guys think is the best acoustic for Blues?? I'm gonna be playing with a slide and I'll be doing mostly Delta style Blues.

I'm a newbie to this site so sorry if this question is dumb or if it's been asked before.

I play an electric guitar right now and I haven't had an acoustic for about 10 years. My first guitar was an acoustic BUT I mostly learned on electric and I've NEVER had a nice acoustic before. I was looking at a Martin DX1 and I liked the way it played BUT I was looking for an opinion from people who have experience playing acoustic gutiar and more importantly BLUES on an acoustic.

Also I was looking at a couple 12-String Acoustic what do you guys think about 12 Strings for Blues?? I wasn't sure about a 12 Sting with a slide though.

Thanks For Your Help
marlboroman
Regular

RE: Best Acoustic For......

Postby rhapsodie » Tue Apr 11, 2006 11:07 pm

Lot's of tonal variations within Acoustic and blues. I suggest you listen to the player you like the most and find out what type he/she used/uses. e.g. EC uses a small body Martin a lot for fingerstyle but a Fender Dobro for slide. Lightnin Hopkins used an old ladder braced parlor sized, RJ used a Gibson small body, Keb Mo mostly uses an Epiphone bluesmaster for fingerstyle and a National steel body for slide. Lot's of the guys here use Johnson Steel body for slide.

Once you find the artist you like, find a similar style of guit at the shop and play lot's of brands. Buy the one you like most.
rhapsodie
Regular

Postby spud camp » Tue Apr 11, 2006 11:48 pm

The one that FEELS right. No one can tell you that, but when you find it.....youll know.
spud camp
Contributor
Contributor

Postby bighollowtwang » Tue Apr 11, 2006 11:52 pm