What Kinda Slide??

A discussion of techniques, and equipment for guitar. Fretted, bottleneck or slide, acoustic or electric, this is the place.

What Kinda Slide??

Postby marlboroman » Sat Apr 29, 2006 6:41 pm

What kinda slide would you recommend for acoustic 12-string slide playin?? Metal, Glass or some other material???

I'm VERY new to playin with a slide, I bought a coricidin bottle slide for my first slide and it doesn't fit my finger for Sh*t.

Also what finger do I want the slide to fit on?? I see some guys use there pinky and some use there ring finger, is it just a matter of personal preference??

Also I was looking at a company called DiamondBottlenecks and they have custom slides, do they make those to fit your finger in particular or is it kinda get as close as they can type thing?? I was also wondering about the different ways slides are made. Some have open tops and they are like a tube, some have a closed rounded top and look like a bullet, some are shaped like a bottle top and so on..... you get the point!! There's a TON of different types SO WHATS THE DIFFERENCE?????

I know this A LOT of questions, BUT I'm trying to learn WITHOUT having to buy every slide made.

Thanks For ANY Help,
Jay
marlboroman
Regular

RE: What Kinda Slide??

Postby marlboroman » Sat Apr 29, 2006 6:47 pm

OHH YEAH, one more thing before I actually let someone answer those 100,000 questions from before.

Is it better to fingerpick when you play slide??? I ALWAYS play with a pick, BUT I've been tryin to learn how to fingerpick on my own and Damn It HURTS.
marlboroman
Regular

Postby ricochet » Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:08 pm

You can use slides of most any material. They will have different sounds and feel. Generally speaking, heavy slides work well with heavy strings, and vice versa.

Big D on here is Ian of Diamond Bottlenecks. I'm sure he can answer your specific questions about them. They're highly regarded for their quality.