Page 1 of 1

Word Wrap?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 5:52 pm
by stumblin
Hi, sorry to be a stick in the mud and all that, but what's happening with all the long sentences going off the edge of the screen?
This forum has always previously fitted all the words in so I can read threads without having to scroll sideways.
Is it something to do with the settings at either end, or is it something I'll just have to learn to live with?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 8:56 pm
by pappyj
Can you point me to an example?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 9:10 pm
by stumblin
This thread:
http://www.bigroadblues.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3958
Is a particularly wide one.
Thanks for having a look Pappy. I'm puzzled about why this should happen, possibly something to do with my settings, but I haven't altered anything, so who knows?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 9:21 pm
by pappyj
Well, it that case there was a very long URL that someone had posted, and the rest of the posts just expanded to fill the width that the URL required. I have also seen this happen with large pictures. I broke that URL and everything now seems normal. So, it seems that the word wrap works, but the longest continous object in a post determines the width of that topic and everything else wraps to that. I don't know if there is a setting to change this, but I'll check.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2006 9:20 am
by stumblin
Thanks Pappy, I inderstand it now.
Sorry for the delayed response, I've had an internet service breakdown.
Spent several hours on the phone to the "help" guys before finally fixing it myself this morning.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2006 2:18 pm
by bosco
Pappy or Stumblin'-

How do you post a link that you can title an abbreviate?

I used to be able to do that with the old software by using brackets and a shift/ backslash, but I haven't figured out how to do it with the new format.

Thanks!

PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2006 12:29 pm
by stumblin
Bosco,
You click on the "url" button (top left). this makes [url] appear in your message window.
Then, put = before the second bracket and copy the url there, [url=insert url here].
You can enter your own text now, thus [url=insert url here] your text.
Then click the "url" button again.
It will look like this:
[url=insert url here]your text[/url].
When you post it, you'll have clickable text which links directly to your chosen url.
I hope that helps.

PS. I'm still experiencing technical internet connection difficulties, so I might not be around much for the next few days.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 1:17 pm
by bosco
Thanks, Stumbles...got it.

I have since found that if you put the cursor over the URL button while composing a post, it puts an example in the grey box over the main window.

Bosco