Some Showmanship Tips For Beginning Singers

Dr. Mojo admits a weakness for jokes about musicians. Let's collect a few -- such as, "How do you get a bass player off your porch?" The answer: Pay him for the pizza.

Some Showmanship Tips For Beginning Singers

Postby Slacker G » Sat Jan 23, 2010 12:31 am

I'm a rank beginner when it comes to singing. I know that singers have a lot of trade secrets that I've yet to discover. I really haven't even scratched the surface. Basically, I write and lay down vocal tracks so I can jam behind myself.
That is the main reason I don't take my vocals seriously. I can't wait until they're out of the way so I can "Get down wif my own bad self" during the fun part of the song.
Once a sidemen, always a sideman at heart. I know a lot of singer tricks, I just can't do them, but I am gaining some attributes as I slowly progress in this new endeavor.
I'll pass what I do know on to those of you who feel even less confident than I do, if that were possible.

For these reasons, I feel I have begun to attain the earmarks of a legitimate singer.

#1 I don't come in on time
#2 I can't remember the lyrics
#3 I make up words to songs and think I'm the only one who notices
#4 I boogie around on the stage wildly waving my microphone to the music during the instrumental. I look so cool.
#5 I turn my back to the audience and play air guitar to the rest of the band when I'm not singing.
#6 I learned this really neat little dance step from watching grunge bands on TV. It looks something like a spastic picking up pop corn off a flight of stairs in pseudo time to the music.
#7 I've learned to get this really silly kinda stupid look on my face when I stare into the room and ask "So What should we do next"
#8 When I sing off key I try to get that misty eyed look on my face like a jazz singer.
#9 When I come in all wrong I just turn around and give the drummer a dirty look.