Which harmonica to buy?

The lowdown on the Mississippi Sax. Just for Google, this section is about harmonicas.

Which harmonica to buy?

Postby harmonicatunes » Fri Mar 06, 2009 1:44 pm

Beginners often ask which harmonica they should get. I've put together an article which outlines the choices available. Instead of recommending a specific instrument, I suggest a range of instruments which beginners might choose from (pictures included). Premium and custom harmonicas are also discussed.

"When I started playing there was one harmonica readily available, the Hohner Marine Band. Choosing your first harmonica back then was easy. Things have changed a lot, harmonica players are now blessed with a wide variety of instruments to choose from...."

The rest of the article is at http://www.harmonicaacademy.com/categories/20090306
harmonicatunes
Regular

Re: Which harmonica to buy?

Postby jeffl » Fri Mar 06, 2009 7:38 pm

Nice page and site Tony. I've played harp since the 60's and am mostly self-taught since there weren't the learning resources available back in those days. I did read Tony Glover's tutorial, "Blues Harp", to get me kick started after fumbling around for about a year on my own, and bought Portnoy's study many years later. I don't gig anymore..just jam every week with the same bunch, splitting harp and keyboard duties, so I'm not pushing myself on harp much lately.
jeffl
Contributor
Contributor

Postby Gtrist » Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:34 pm

I have a Marine Band one, because I kept reading of all these old blues players that used them. And the stuff available back then was to start with A--so I did that too.

It's mostly for fun, as I never quite got the hang of it beyond simple stuff. I still play along to recordings, for fun, and I have one recorded example of me playing, "When the Saints Go Marchin' In" The music came with the harmonica.