Two questions...

The lowdown on the Mississippi Sax. Just for Google, this section is about harmonicas.

Two questions...

Postby flatpaul » Wed Jul 04, 2007 4:55 am

I haven't had a lot of time for playing the harp since the new year but I'm currently very sick and playing it all of the time. I've made a lot of progress over the past couple of weeks and am now pretty comfortable in 3rd position and have got a few new bends.

I think I've blown out a couple of my harps. One's a bluesharp in A - the 5 draw is dead. I think that I did it learning a slide up to 6 draw bend. It sounded like a cross between a 3 draw and a mosquito for a bit then it died completely.

The other's an Oskar in C - the 4 draw is dead.

Q1) Am I drawing too hard?

I've got a brand new Oskar in G and the 9 draw sounds 'mosquito like'. Sorry - I'm a beginner and that's the best that I can come up with description wise.

Q2) How do I fix this problem?

Thanks guys,

Paul
flatpaul
Regular

Postby t bone bruce » Wed Jul 04, 2007 5:22 pm

To answer your questions:
1) Probably. Chances are you using too much air- blowing and drawing too hard. Barbecue Bob will confirm that it's the cause of a lot of problems for beginners. 2 draw and 4 draw go most commonly in my experience. They can be re-tuned but it takes practice. Lee Oskars, love them or hate them, are tough harps, I've had some for years, and only ever blown out 2- A&D harps, my two most used keys, which I retuned and I keep at work for practice.