Felling like a second-class citizen…

The lowdown on the Mississippi Sax. Just for Google, this section is about harmonicas.

Felling like a second-class citizen…

Postby eline » Tue Jan 30, 2007 9:22 pm

I’ve been messing around with a harp for a few years now, but haven’t really played on stage. However, since about October I’ve been jamming with a guitarist & drummer who are phenomenal and they really dig my playing (not bragging, but I’m pretty good). Anyways, yesterday I met with a vocalist, who is currently working with a bass player that we’re interested in, so in essence these two would complete the band: perfect. When this vocalist hit me up as to what instrument I played and I replied the harmonica, he asked, “do you play anything else?” At first I didn’t think anything of it and said, “yeah I play a little guitar and some percussion (remember: On the Sideline Post).” He kept hinting at what other things could I do other than play a harmonica, as if this were a problem. This bothered me more and more as the day moved on. It seemed to me that he was discounting the importance of the blues harp, in my opinion. Should I be obligated to be a multi-tasking musician? If we’re playing BLUES and this is a BLUES BAND, is it or is it not okay to just focus on harmonica and some percussion?
eline
Regular

Postby ricochet » Tue Jan 30, 2007 9:37 pm

He's a bozo.
ricochet
Regular

Postby jeffl » Tue Jan 30, 2007 9:45 pm