Which Amp?

The lowdown on the Mississippi Sax. Just for Google, this section is about harmonicas.

Which Amp?

Postby Mister_K19 » Sat Jul 01, 2006 4:45 am

So far, I have just been playing traditional acoustic harmonica. But I've been considering on playing with a mic and amp. I know what mic I'm going to get but I'm not sure about the amp. I have no knowledge of amplifers. But I'm looking for something around $100 or less. I'm just looking for something decent, nothing professional since I'm still a bit of a beginner. Anyone got any suggestions? Also, a friend of mine plays with the Pignose portable amp. Is that any good?
Mister_K19
Regular

Postby thebluesbox » Sat Jul 01, 2006 5:24 am

pignose has a good rep, I never played on one but heard good things about them, they are made for just like what your discribing something to kick around on for under a 100.00 ..... if you wanna go a little bigger with tubes for that crunchy dirty sound look on ebay for a kalamazoo, harmony, silvertone, gibson, supro, valco, etc. something with an 8 - 10 inch speaker makes a great sounding amp and can always be mic-ed if you ever play out. You can look to pay anywhere from 80.00 - 200.00 for a good old vintage amp some go even higher in cost, but I bought a harmony H400A for 80.00 that sounded awesome! But I sold it because it had a 2 prong cord and I didnt wanna go through trying to get it safe to play.