Puzzler

The lowdown on the Mississippi Sax. Just for Google, this section is about harmonicas.

Puzzler

Postby gogs » Wed May 24, 2006 2:01 am

Here's something for all you geniuses out there:I've got 4 harps,all Hohner,2 Proharp,2 Bluesharp in the keys of A,C,D and G.On the D and C I can get the 2nd hole,draw and blow,clear as a bell;on the A and G,it's a foghorn both ways.All 4 played like this straight out of the box,they were bought in different shops at different times,and I also tried a Lee Oskar in G with the same result.The chances off all of them having duff reeds would be slim,but I'm damned if I can think of any other reason for this.
:?
gogs
Regular

Postby jeffl » Wed May 24, 2006 1:20 pm

It's gotta be your technique,Gogs,unless you jus' hit the lottery. I've been playing for about 40 years,and I don't know if I've ever had to return a harp for a defect. The usual villain is the habit of playing with too much force. Does it play like it's supposed to if you just blow and draw normally on each note,without trying to bend it...?
jeffl
Contributor
Contributor

Postby songdog » Wed May 24, 2006 2:54 pm

Yep, I think Jeff is right about your technique. When I first started playing I seem to remember there being certain notes on certain keys that squawked, honked or just flatout didn't make a sound. Your initial response is to question the harp because it seems odd that not all of the holes would operate identically. But that's one of the mysteries of this fun little instrument in that some notes will bend while others won't, some require a lighter touch while others will let you suck a tornado through them.

As suggested before, try different techniques to coax some sounds from the difficult holes: Try not blowing/drawing so hard; if you are using the pucker method for single notes, try the tongue blocking method, or vice versa; try making sounds when you draw (eee, oooh, ka, etc.).