Bass amp

A forum devoted to the discussion of playing bass with the blues.

Bass amp

Postby godinguy » Thu Feb 22, 2007 6:15 am

Forgive me Brothers, but I have sinned!!
Well, I've gone and sold my lovely Godin LG because I was led astray by BASS GUITAR.
I bought a new Ibanez GSR200FM (flamed maple top). She's lovely.
I'm using a 60W Samick bass amp but I'm looking at a new Fender Rumble 100, or an Ashdown 180W.
Any thoughts on either of these please?
I've read reviews about both, I'm more interested in the general "ambience" or satisfaction level owners might have. I don't gig, just enjoy a wee jam with my cobbers now and then.
Should mention I'm still learning slide on my SX semi-hollow. Will probably cut down to one amp (bass amp), and play the slide through that as well.
Thanks for your thoughts.
godinguy
Regular

Postby kwill » Thu Feb 22, 2007 1:45 pm

I play a '59 EBO through a Rumble 100 and it sounds great. The EBO has lots of bottom end anyway and the Rumble makes it sound great...and with the equalizer on the amp it's pretty easy to adjust the tone. I also have a Pignose HOG 30 battery powered amp that I use with the EBO and that's great for portability.
kwill
Contributor
Contributor

Postby tim3finger » Thu Feb 22, 2007 9:56 pm

Haven't posted for a while, so, I guess this is as good topic to weigh in on as any.
Which bass amp? Which ever one you like, and whichever one you have usually are good answers. The fender rumble 100 is a good, if not one dimensional, amp. I don't know about the ashdown, except it gets pretty good reviews and is priced right for the power and speaker size.